Lorne Balfe - His Dark Materials (Original Television Soundtrack)

His Dark Materials (Original Television Soundtrack)

Lorne Balfe

Available Formats Tracks Price Buy
Download Album (MP3) 33 tracks £11.99
Download Album (FLAC) 33 tracks £11.99
Download individual tracks From £0.99


Lorne Balfe - His Dark Materials (Original Television Soundtrack)

Award-winning composer Lorne Balfe’s dramatic soundtrack to the BBC’s adaptation of Philip Pullman’s fantasy trilogy.

“It’s an epic work that perfectly foreshadows Lyra’s journey, and could easily belong in Assassin’s Creed or Tomb Raider… There’s been a lot of love for Balfe’s music for His Dark Materials, with one Twitter user saying it’s been “playing and replaying in their head”, and another calling it their “favourite intro for a TV show in 2019”.
Classic FM

“This is fantasy the way it should be done: sumptuous, inspiring both wonder and a sense of adventure, beautifully scored (by Lorne Balfe), with world building that is as impeccable as it is effortless.”
First Post

The main themes from His Dark Materials have already been introduced to the listeners through The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials, released on Silva Screen Records in November 2019. For this concept album the principal themes were reworked, moulded and explored as each character’s theme is on a separate musical journey throughout the series. The themes are never fixed, there are no rules and they are constantly evolving. His Dark Materials original score provides a musical narrative drive across all 8 episodes. The album presents the music, including main character themes, as they appear through the series.

The score is performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Matt Dunkley. The leading cast for His Dark Materials includes Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter, Lin Manuel Miranda as Lee Scoresby, James McAvoy as Lord Asriel, Clarke Peters as The Master of Jordan College, James Cosmo as Farder Coram and Anne-Marie Duff as Ma Costa, with Will Keen as Father McPhail and Ariyon Bakare as Lord Boreal.


Download Album (SILED1614)
    1. Lorne Balfe - Iorek's Armor
    2. Lorne Balfe - The Great Flood
    3. Lorne Balfe - Lyra's Jordan
    4. Lorne Balfe - Everyone is Special
    5. Lorne Balfe - The Golden Compass
    6. Lorne Balfe - Where Is Roger?
    7. Lorne Balfe - Readying the Boats
    8. Lorne Balfe - Leaving Jordan
    9. Lorne Balfe - Tell Me Where He Is
    10. Lorne Balfe - Voyages
    11. Lorne Balfe - Cocktail Party
    12. Lorne Balfe - I Will Succeed
    13. Lorne Balfe - There Was a Gyptian Nurse
    14. Lorne Balfe - Daemons to Dust
    15. Lorne Balfe - Clear Your Mind
    16. Lorne Balfe - The List
    17. Lorne Balfe - Look to the Stars
    1. Lorne Balfe - Gateway to the North
    2. Lorne Balfe - You Loved a Witch
    3. Lorne Balfe - Iorek Breaks Loose
    4. Lorne Balfe - Some Sort of Ghost
    5. Lorne Balfe - Polar Adventure
    6. Lorne Balfe - The Silver Guillotine
    7. Lorne Balfe - Battle of Bolvangar
    8. Lorne Balfe - Parting Ways
    9. Lorne Balfe - Armored Claws
    10. Lorne Balfe - Assuming The Mantle
    11. Lorne Balfe - Airships Approaching
    12. Lorne Balfe - Fog and Ice
    13. Lorne Balfe - Bridge to the Stars
    14. Lorne Balfe - The End of the Magisterium
    15. Lorne Balfe - Crossing Worlds
    16. Lorne Balfe - Into The Sky