The Changes - Vinyl LP

The Changes - Vinyl LP

Format Price Buy
The Changes Vinyl DLP £22.99


The Changes - Vinyl LP

Originally released on white vinyl for Record Store Day 2018, the 500 pressing sold out almost instantly. The classic 1970's BBC soundtrack has now been repressed on this limited run of black vinyl.

The critically acclaimed BBC TV series, The Changes, was first broadcast by the BBC in in 1975, accompanied by music from electronic pioneer Paddy Kingsland, who wrote and recorded the score while working at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop.
The 10 part series, adapted from Peter Dickinson’s book trilogy, was perfectly suited to Kingsland’s seminal electronic style, following a teenager living in a Britain where machinery and technology emit a terrible, all-enveloping noise, causing the population to destroy them.
Kingsland used an early synthesiser, the EMS Synthi 100 (which was apparently so large, they had to remove the doors of the studio to get it through), overlaid with live instruments including sitar, percussion, tabla, flute and horns to create a soundtrack which is indicative of exactly how the BBC Radiophonic Workshop’s early output influenced and informed the popular electronic music of the Eighties and beyond.
Kingsland went on to write the music for (amongst others) The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Radio and TV series), Doctor Who and Around the World in 80 Days, as well as composing for the KPM music library, who issued eight albums of his work. An LP of his Radiophonic Workshop output, “The Fourth Dimension” , was released by BBC Records in 1973.

Track Listing

1. The Changes Opening Titles
2. Home Alone (Nicky’s Theme)
3. Everybody’s Gone
4. A Note on the Door
5. A Special Kind of People
6. Your Ways Are Not Our Ways
7. The Changes Closing Titles (56" version)
8. The Bad Wires
9. The Barns
10. Life on the Farm
11. The Devil’s Children
12. The Village Court

1. The Forge
2. Hostages!
3. Rescue
4. The Changes Closing Titles (67" version)
5. The End of the Rescue
6. A Farewell
7. A Journey, and Arrival at Henley Farm

1. Sentence of Death
2. Leaving Shipton
3. Heartsease
4. At Purton Bridge
5. The Changes Closing Titles (63" version)
6. After the Bridge
7. Michael and Mary
8. Necromancer’s Weather

1. The Quarry
2. Mr Furbelow
3. Qui Me Tangit, Turbat Mundum
4. The Changes Closing Titles (48" version)
5. Into the Rock
6. The Cavern
7. Merlinus Sum
8. It’s All Over
9. Everything’s Alright Again (End Titles)
10. Nicky's Theme (Stereo Demo) (Bonus Track)
11. Theme 2 Demo (Bonus Track)
12. The Noise (Bonus Track)