Lorne Balfe - The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials (Music From The Television Series)

The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials (Music From The Television Series)

Lorne Balfe

Available Formats Tracks Price Buy
Download Album (MP3) 19 tracks £8.99
Download Album (FLAC) 19 tracks £8.99
Download individual tracks From £0.99


Lorne Balfe - The Musical Anthology of His Dark Materials (Music From The Television Series)

In this introduction to the Music from the Television Series, Composer Lorne Balfe delves into the
series and character themes from His Dark Materials, the new adaptation of Philip Pullman’s
acclaimed trilogy. Performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the concept album has
attracted a stellar cast of additional contributing recording artists. The series will have its global
premiere on Sunday 3rd November on BBC One and on Monday 4th November on HBO. The album
will be released during the series run.
For this concept driven release, Lorne Balfe has assembled a superb, diverse, and devoted cast of
performing artists to present the exquisitely crafted new musical themes. Already fans of the book
and wanting to contribute to the Series, the album connects singer K T Tunstall, drummer Chad
Smith (Red Hot Chilli Peppers), cellist Tina Guo (Hans Zimmer Live and The World of Hans Zimmer),
post modern composer-cellist Peter Gregson, steam punk influenced violinist and dancer Lindsey
Stirling, classical horn player Sarah Willis, BAFTA award winning composer, multi instrumentalist
Richard Harvey and Vanya Moneva’s Ethnic Bulgarian Choir.
Presented on this soundtrack album are the opening title theme together with key character themes
for the young protagonists Lyra, Roger and the adults Mrs. Coulter, Lord Asriel and Lee Scoresby.
Other themes present the majestic locations of Oxford and Svalbard, the people that Lyra
encounters on her epic journey (the Gyptians, the Witches of Lake Enara, the machinations of The
Magisterium) and The Alethiometer, the device that helps set all the events in motion.
The leading cast for His Dark Materials includes Dafne Keen as Lyra, Ruth Wilson as Mrs Coulter, Lin-
Manuel Miranda as Lee Scoresby, James McAvoy as Lord Asriel, Clarke Peters as The Master of
Jordan College, James Cosmo as Farder Coram and Anne-Marie Duff as Ma Costa, with Will Keen as
Father McPhail and Ariyon Bakare as Lord Boreal.
“Since the beginning, myself and the rest of the music team knew we wanted a mixture and a
hybrid,” says Lorne. “What I wanted people to feel when listening to the music is they don’t
necessarily know if it’s real or not or whether it’s in the present or in the past. There are no rules and
musically, it’s constantly evolving. Another crucial element we strived to accomplish was to always
have a clear journey of each character’s theme. I wrote their themes separately as a journey, so that
we knew musically what would happen throughout the series.”


“… thematically rich, dramatically potent fantasy music… undoubtedly one of the most
impressive new scores of the year”
MovieWave 5*

“Lorne Balfe just blew me away with the music on this album. It is energetic, magical, rich in
melodies, strong orchestrations and it comes with an amazing main theme.”
Soundtrack World 5*

“Lorne Balfe‘s score is very cinematic, whilst the title sequence is wonderfully detailed and

“…Enriched by its lavish, swelling, thrumming score…”
Film Era

“From start to finish the album is an awe-inspiring experience… One of the best scores of
2019. An astonishing job, Mr. Balfe.”

“Composer Lorne Balfe (Netflix's "The Crown," "Mission: Impossible — Fallout") conjured an
epic fantasy theme which thrills when it swells to its peak, making the opening credits
enjoyable to sit through time and again.”

“The Score by Lorne Balfe has the makings of an epic”

“It’s also worth mentioning that Lorne Balfe’s music score is just golden. His music simply
captures the essence of the show.”
TV Movie Fix

“This is fantasy the way it should be done: sumptuous, inspiring both wonder and a sense of
adventure, beautifully scored (by Lorne Balfe), with world building that is as impeccable as it
is effortless.”
First Post


Download Album (SILED1618)
  1. Lorne Balfe - His Dark Materials
  2. Lorne Balfe - The Alethiometer
  3. Lorne Balfe - Lyra: The Child of Prophecy
  4. Lorne Balfe - The Settling of a Daemon
  5. Lorne Balfe - Scholastic Sanctuary
  6. Lorne Balfe - The General Oblation Board
  7. Lorne Balfe - The Life of Roger Parslow
  8. Lorne Balfe - The Machinations of Lord Boreal
  9. Lorne Balfe - A Gilded Cage
  10. Lorne Balfe - The Strength of Gyptians
  11. Lorne Balfe - A Plea to Fate
  12. Lorne Balfe - The Legacy of Svalbard
  13. Lorne Balfe - Mrs. M.Coulter
  14. Lorne Balfe - The Magisterium
  15. Lorne Balfe - The Path Foretold
  16. Lorne Balfe - Release the Spy-Fly
  17. Lorne Balfe - The Tales of Lee Scoresby
  18. Lorne Balfe - The Compass Points North
  19. Lorne Balfe - The Witches of Lake Enara